farah's footprints

a lively journey through my world of chaos!


Unleashing the Potential of Collective Learning

Dream Team 🤪

My journey to the first school visit started from the day before the visit itself. My group and I were very keen on gathering different ideas to maximize the benefit of both, us and the students whom we were going to teach. In general, I am not a person who worries or overthinks too much, but for some reason I happened to be kind of uptight about the whole experience. I wanted to make a very good impression to actually leave these people with something useful to use in their learning path or even their life. What worried me the most is the feeling of not having planned everything to the fullest and whether or not they will allow us to implement what we’ve already planned. On the bright side though, I was very excited to meet them and see my group work together to produce an outcome that satisfies all of us. From the day before, we had planned to carry out 3 different activities and thought of cloud 4 as a plan b in case we had extra time left. The first activity was to distribute out different animals and ask them which animal they feel resembles them the most. Each of them introduced him/herself and told us what their dream job is. Oh and something that’s worth mentioning is that we placed name tags on our t-shirts so they could easily identify us and vice versa as well (at least we were prepared with that 😄 because a small inconvenience happed while trying to print the pictures of animals). Anyways, we then played another game called 2 truths 1 lie where we as a group would decide which was the lie based on the mini activity we played at the beginning. Even us, we participated to make it feel more engaging and interesting so they could know us too. Lastly and most importantly is the discussion we wanted to have about using AI in planting. Everyone got a chance to speak about their planting experience, while we shared ours too! During the discussion about AI I felt that they started to lose interest and want to go on with more activities or games. As a team we tried to come up with the idea of QuickDraw but not all of them had their phones with them. We quickly got Cloud 4 and agreed to plan better next time. I don’t feel like I had an assigned job that we decided on beforehand, on the contrary though I think all of us were very supportive of each other. Whenever anyone of us stutters for example someone else jumps in to make it go smoothly. I am very interested in telling them more about creating a blog and voicing out their opinions on whichever topic they’re interested in. I was literally blown away by listening to the dreams they want to pursue when they are older. One of the girls told me that she developed 3 apps I was like what?????😲 Hahah it made me feel like why the hell am I studying marketing. Feels so silly next to someone who DEVELOPS apps. My only concern about the group we were with is that they are mostly girls with maybe 4-5 boys. I felt like it was so difficult to engage them with us into the conversation, so either they were not interesting enough or they didn’t have a chance to speak because u know girls, they love nothing more than to tell stories about themselves. And this is a very important thing that I learned, not everyone has the same level of confidence to speak. Some people are very shy to speak up that’s why our activities, that we’ll prepare for next time, must give all learners an equal chance to participate.

You can see me here not believing my ears when I heard about the whole 3 apps thing, but mashallah she’s has a very encouraging spirit  🥰 

Stay tuned for my next post on my next visit to hear all about the activities we’ve prepared to make it a better experience!



One response to “Unleashing the Potential of Collective Learning”

  1. thanks for this, Farah. The element of feeling uptight/worried before you go is good (though it feels unpleasant at the time) because it means you care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started